You are here

The Centre for Applied Genomics (TCAG)

Status: 
Past
Competition: 
Membership to the Genomics Innovation Network and Core Operations Support Funds
Genome Centre(s):
Ontario Genomics
Project Leader(s):
Stephen Scherer (The Hospital for Sick Children), Lisa Strug (The Hospital for Sick Children)
GE3LS: 
No
Fiscal Year Project Launched: 
2015-2016
Project Description: 

The Centre for Applied Genomics (TCAG) each year supports experimental research performed by more than 800 different scientific investigators from academic, government, non-governmental organization and private sector research labs around the world. Its development of new algorithms and methods for the analysis of whole genome sequence data underpin major, international research collaborations and embedded projects.

TCAG was established in 1998; since the inception of Genome Canada in 2001, it has served as a Science and Technology Innovation Centre and with this award is now a member of Genome Canada’s Genomics Innovation Network. Located in the Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning at The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), TCAG focuses largely on projects concerned with whole genome sequencing data. It provides services through four core facilities: DNA sequencing; informatics and biostatistics; microarrays and genotyping; and cytogenomics and biobanking. The technologies available at TCAG include high-throughput sequencing, genome-wide DNA and gene expression analysis, chromosome analysis (cytogenomics) and high-throughput genetic analysis. These technologies are supported by conventional DNA sequencing, targeted analysis of specific genes, synthesis of custom DNA fragments for specific assays and biobanking of blood, cell lines and DNA samples.

In addition to providing these services, TCAG is actively involved in researching and developing innovative new methods for genome analysis, particularly as it relates to examining variation in the genome between individual humans, and in how genes act together in networks and pathways to cause disease. TCAG’s activities and impact are acknowledged in hundreds of peer-reviewed scientific publications each year.

Vous êtes ici

The Centre for Applied Genomics (TCAG)

État: 
Précédent
Concours: 
Réseau d’innovation génomique
Secteur: 
Environnement
Centre(s) de génomique:
Ontario Genomics
Directeur or directrice de projet:
Stephen Scherer (Hôpital pour enfants malades), Lisa Strug (Hôpital pour enfants malades)
GE3LS: 
Non
Année de lancement: 
2014-2015
Résumé: 

Le Centre for Applied Genomics (TCAG) appuie annuellement la recherche expérimentale effectuée par plus de 800 scientifiques des universités, du gouvernement, des organisations non gouvernementales et des laboratoires de recherche du secteur privé de partout dans le monde. Sa mise au point de nouveaux algorithmes et de nouvelles méthodes d’analyse de données pangénomiques est lefondement de grandes collaborations en recherche et des projets qui y sont exécutés.

Le TCAG a été créé en 1998; depuis la création de Génome Canada en 2001, il est un Centre d’innovation de science et de technologie et par le présent octroi, il devient dorénavant membre du Réseau d’innovation génomique. Situé au Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning à l’Hôpital pour enfants maladies (SickKids), le TCAG se concentre principalement sur les projets qui s’intéressent aux données pangénomiques. Il assure des services par le truchement de quatre installations de base : séquençage de l’ADN; informatique et biostatistique; puces à ADN et génotypage; cytogénomique et mise en banque de matériel biologique. Les technologies offertes au TCAG comprennent le séquençage génétique à haut débit; l’analyse pangénomique de l’ADN et de l’expression des gènes; l’analyse des chromosomes (cytogénomique) et l’analyse génétique à haut débit. Ces technologies sont appuyées par le séquençage de l’ADN traditionnel, l’analyse ciblée de gènes donnés, la synthèse de fragments particuliers de l’ADN pour des essais spécifiques et la mise en banque d’échantillons de sang, de lignées cellulaires et d’ADN.

En plus de ces services, le TCAG participe activement à recherche-développement de nouvelles méthodes novatrices d’analyse génomique, en particulier l’examen des variations génomiques entre des humains et l’interaction des gènes dans les réseaux et les voies qui est la source de maladies. Les activités du TCAG et son influence sont reconnues annuellement dans des centaines de publications scientifiques évaluées par les pairs.