You are here

The Proteomics Centre (PC)

Status: 
Past
Competition: 
Membership to the Genomics Innovation Network and Core Operations Support Funds
Genome Centre(s):
Genome British Columbia
Project Leader(s):
Christoph Borchers (University of Victoria), Leonard Foster (University of British Columbia)
Fiscal Year Project Launched: 
2015-2016
Project Description: 

Proteomics is the study of proteins and their interactions. Genes express proteins; these proteins, in turn, do most of the work in cells. Studying what proteins are expressed and in what quantities is highly complex, but can provide sophisticated information about an organism’s condition. A relatively new field (less than 20 years old), proteomics has evolved rapidly due, in large part, to improvements in mass spectrometry instrumentation and methods that have allowed researchers to probe the proteome with unprecedented depth, breadth and detail.

The Proteomics Centre is a central hub for proteomics research in Canada. It combines the cutting-edge research and strengths of the University of Victoria-Genome BC Proteomics Centre and the University of British Columbia Proteomics Core Facility to provide clients with a “one-stop shop” for an expansive range of high-quality proteomics services.

The Proteomics Centre offers custom analyses to fit clients’ needs rather than fitting clients’ needs into pre-existing moulds. It provides support at every step, from assisting with securing project funding to assisting with publishing research results and every step in between. Its services include: simultaneously quantifying large numbers of proteins for biomarker assessment; developing high-throughput clinical assays; discovering biomarkers; identifying proteins from biological samples; characterizing the structure and function of specific protein structures and assemblies; performing -omic-scale measurement of protein modifications; studying protease cleavage sites; mapping and characterizing protein-protein interactions; revealing the location of proteins and peptides in tissues; and developing and applying complementary bioinformatics tools for optimal experimental design and advanced data analysis. The cutting-edge services offered by the Proteomics Centre are an integral first step in addressing an area of unmet medical and other needs.

Vous êtes ici

The Proteomics Centre (PC)

État: 
Précédent
Concours: 
Réseau d’innovation génomique
Secteur: 
Environnement
Centre(s) de génomique:
Genome British Columbia
Directeur or directrice de projet:
Christoph Borchers, Leonard Foster (Université de la Colombie-Britannique Columbia)
GE3LS: 
Non
Année de lancement: 
2015-2016
Résumé: 

La protéomique est l’étude des protéines et de leurs interactions. Les gènes expriment les protéines; ces dernières, à leur tour, font la majeure partie du travail dans les cellules. L’étude des protéines exprimées et de leur nombre est hautement complexe, mais peut fournir une information pointue sur l’état d’un organisme. Domaine assez nouveau (moins de 20 ans), la protéomique a rapidement évolué, en grande partie en raison des améliorations de l’instrumentation et des méthodes de la spectrométrie de masse qui ont permis aux chercheurs de sonder le protéome avec une profondeur, une ampleur et des détails inégalés.

Le Proteomics Centre est un carrefour de la recherche en protéomique au Canada. Il allie la recherche de pointe et les forces du Genome BC Proteomics Centre de l’Université de Victoria et de la Proteomics Core Facility de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique pour offrir aux clients un « guichet unique » à un large éventail de services de protéomique de haute qualité.

Le Proteomics Centre offre des analyses sur mesure, selon les besoins des clients au lieu de faire correspondre les besoins des clients à des moules préexistants. Il apporte son aide à chaque étape, qu’il s’agisse d’aider à obtenir le financement du projet ou à publier les résultats des recherches et à toutes les étapes entre les deux. Ses services sont les suivants : quantifier simultanément de grands nombres de protéines pour l’évaluation des biomarqueurs; élaborer des essais cliniques à fort débit; découvrir les biomarqueurs; identifier les protéines d’échantillons biologiques; caractériser la structure et la fonction des structures et des assemblages protéiques précis; effectuer des mesures des modifications protéiques à l’échelle des sciences en « omique »; étudier les sites de restriction des protéases; cartographier et caractériser des interactions protéines-protéines; révéler l’emplacement des protéines et des peptides dans les tissus; concevoir et mettre en œuvre des outils complémentaires de la bio-informatique pour un plan optimal d’expérimentations et une analyse poussée des données. Les services de pointe offerts par le Proteomics Centre sont une première étape incontournable dans la recherche d’une solution aux besoins médicaux et autres qui ne sont pas comblés.