You are here

Toronto Centre for Phenogenomics

Status: 
Past
Competition: 
Membership to the Genomics Innovation Network and Core Operations Support Funds
Genome Centre(s):
Ontario Genomics
Project Leader(s):
Colin McKerlie (The Hospital for Sick Children)
Fiscal Year Project Launched: 
2015-2016
Project Description: 

Human diseases are characterized by complex interactions between genes (genotype) and physical traits (phenotypes). Because of the similarity between mouse and human genomes, scientists can study this interaction in mice to learn how genes function and which mutations cause disease and to develop improved treatments for these diseases.

The Toronto Centre for Phenogenomics (TCP) is the largest facility in Canada to provide scientists with the expertise and services they need to create mice with specific mutations and study their phenotypes, creating more than 250 such models each year. The TCP creates and distributes mouse models for researchers and helps analyze them with the same kinds of tests used on humans, such as vision tests and medical imaging. It also provides services to companies that are developing new drugs.

Among the services the TCP provides are: expert consultation and assistance to enable scientists to effectively execute their research projects; mutant model design and production to meet specific scientific needs; analysis of mouse models, including identification of abnormalities and study of how mutations affect tissue structure and cause disease; cryopreservation and distribution services, using state-of-the-art and stringent quality-controlled technologies; and informatics to provide online access to clients to assist them in project design, quality control and data analysis.

The TCP supports excellent research, helps companies succeed and trains and maintains highly skilled people, all in the interest of improving human health.

Vous êtes ici

Toronto Centre for Phenogenomics

État: 
Précédent
Concours: 
Réseau d’innovation génomique
Secteur: 
Agriculture and Agri Food
Santé
Foresterie
Pêches et aquaculture
Environnement
Énergie
Mines
Centre(s) de génomique:
Ontario Genomics
Directeur or directrice de projet:
Colin McKerlie (The Hospital for Sick Kids)
GE3LS: 
Non
Année de lancement: 
2015-2016
Résumé: 

Les interactions complexes des gènes (génotype) et des traits physiques (phénotypes) caractérisent les maladies humaines. La similitude des génomes murins et des génomes humains permet aux chercheurs d’étudier ces interactions chez les souris pour comprendre le fonctionnement des gènes, déterminer quelles mutations causent les maladies et mettre au point de meilleurs traitements.

Le Toronto Centre for Phenogenomics (TCP) est la plus grande installation au Canada à offrir aux chercheurs les compétences spécialisées et les services dont ils ont besoin pour créer des souris aux mutations particulières et étudier leurs phénotypes. Il crée plus de 250 de ces modèles murins annuellement. Le TCP crée et distribue les modèles murins pour les chercheurs et les aide à les analyser à l’aide des tests utilisés chez les humains, par exemple des tests de vision et l’imagerie médicale. Il offre aussi des services aux sociétés qui développent de nouveaux médicaments.

Le TCP offre entre autres les services suivants : consultation et aide d’experts pour que les chercheurs puissent exécuter efficacement leurs projets de recherche; conception et production de modèles mutants en fonction de besoins scientifiques précis; analyse de modèles murins, dont l’identification des anomalies et l’étude de la façon dont les mutations influencent la structure des tissus et causent les maladies; services de cryoconservation et de distribution au moyen de technologies d’avant-garde soumises à des contrôles de qualité rigoureux; services informatiques pour donner aux clients accès en ligne à la conception des projets, au contrôle de la qualité et à l’analyse des données.

Le TCP appuie d’excellents travaux de recherche, aide les sociétés à réussir, forme du personnel hautement qualifié et lui assure un emploi, dans le but ultime toujours d’améliorer la santé humaine.